Chicken Enchiladas Recipe

Image

I have been making this Chicken Enchilada recipe for about 10 years and I can’t remember where I got the original recipe.  I think it was one of my cook books, but I have changed it over time and have added homemade items to make it healthier.

Chicken Enchiladas

2 pints of home canned chicken

2 – 8 oz pepper jack cheese shredded (I do this ahead and freeze)

2 pints homemade cream of chicken soup (you could use canned if you add milk – I would use 2 cans and add 1 1/2 cup of milk)

1 package 10 count of flour tortillas

1 – 10 oz can green enchilada sauce

1/4 cup of THRIVE green chili peppers (rehydrate in about 3-4 Tbs of water and drain if needed)

1 9 x 13 pan and 1 smaller pan for extra enchiladas

First you will need to cut up your chicken:

Put this chicken in a bowl, add shredded pepper jack and mix together:

Now spray your pans with oil, wrap your enchiladas and put in the pan seam side down.  If you have some meat mixture left over, don’t worry about it, you can throw it on top after you put the sauce on the enchiladas:

Now you can rehydrate your Thrive green chili peppers.  I put them in a glass measuring cup and add my water one tablespoon at a time to rehydrate:

This is what they look like in the #10 can.  They are freeze dried so they can just sit on your shelf until you need them.

This is how easy it is to rehydrate them:

Now I put the green enchilada sauce in a bowl and mix it with the green chilies and the soup:

Now you will pour this over the enchiladas.  I had two pans, so I had to split between the two. I put my extra chicken and cheese mixture on the top:

Now you put these on cookie sheets covered in aluminum foil, cover the top of the pan with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes:

This is what they look like when they come out:

Very yummy and they reheat well in the microwave for lunch the next day!

Leave a Reply

