Beef Stir Fry Recipe

Image

I decided to make one of my favorite recipes for stir fry and do it in my pressure cooker.  This is a recipe that I have altered to fit my taste, but the original came from Arlene Williams At Home for the Holidays Cookbook and is called Quick and Easy Beef Stir Fry Supper.  I am using my freeze dried Thrive asparagus and red bell peppers.  For the chicken broth, I save the broth from my canned chicken, which I used in a prior recipe.  I just save the broth in my fridge and skim off the hardened grease from the top before using.  I like to have a lot of the sauce on this, so I basically quadrupled the ingredients for the sauce except the salt, pepper and crushed red pepper flakes.  I did not use the cornstarch she calls for because this thickens the sauce and I didn’t know how my pressure cooker would do with the thickened sauce.  Here is my pressure cooker version:

Beef Stir Fry (my version for pressure cooker)

1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup soy sauce

4 Tbs. orange juice (I took 1 Tbs. of frozen orange juice concentrate and put in 3 Tbs. of water)

1 Tbs + 1 tsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes (I used 1/2 tsp. and it was way too spicy for me, so add with caution, but hubby liked it this hot)

1 sirloin steak cut into slices

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 cup Thrive freeze dried asparagus

1/2 cup Thrive freeze dried red bell pepper

Take the sirloin steak and cut into strips (this is easier if it is semi frozen).  Put these in the bottom of your pressure cooker.

Add all the other indredients except your freeze dried asparagus and freeze dried bell pepper and set your pressure cooker on high for 15 minutes.

Open your cooker and add the bell pepper and asparagus and pressure cook on high for 5 more minutes.

When your items are done transfer to a bowl and serve over white rice.   You can also make your rice in your pressure cooker too to make this faster.  I used white basmati rice and cooked it with double the water for 7 minutes.  Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

