Thrive Chicken TVP Tacos

Image

First of all, I really didn’t know what chicken tvp (textured vegetable protein) was, but when I became a Shelf Reliance consultant I received a can of it in my consultant kit.  It turns out that there is no chicken in chicken tvp and it is soy based and is ok for a vegetarian to eat.  It also is low fat, which makes me extremely happy.  Anyhow, I decided to make tacos with my regular homemade chicken taco seasoning in my pressure cooker.  It turned out great and my son who would eat just meat if I allowed him to, liked it.  Here is the recipe:

Thrive Chicken TVP Tacos

2 1/2 cups of Thrive Chicken TVP

3 cups of water

4 Tablespoons of homemade taco seasoning (see below)

2 Tablespoons of Ketchup (I made mine from Thrive Tomato Powder -I got the recipe here at http://www.whywethrive.com, but I did not add the allspice)

Combine all ingredients in the pressure cooker and mix together.  Put the lid on the pressure cooker and set to high pressure for 5 minutes.  Quick release the pressure on the cooker when it finishes cooking.  Now you can use this like regular chicken taco meat.  We put it in flour tortillas with our usual taco toppings.  This is what my finished tvp looked like:

You could use regular taco seasoning and just leave out the ketchup or I will share the recipe I use.  I got my taco seasoning recipe from a cookbook entitled Healthy Choices which was written by Keepers at Home magazine.  The mix that I use is the recipe of Joanne Martin of Brooten, MN and Eunice Halteman of Newville, PA.  I mix this all together and store it in a glass quart jar with a plastic screw on lid made for the Mason jars.  When I make tacos I use 2 tablespoons of this mix with, 1 tablespoon of ketchup and 1/2 cup of water per pound of meat.  I have removed the cornstarch listed in the mix, but if you want to add it in it is 1 Tbsp to the amounts below. Here is the mix recipe:

Taco Seasoning Mix

1/4 cup instant minced onion

3 Tbsp. Chili powder

2 Tbsp. ground cumin

2 Tbsp. salt

1 Tbsp hot red pepper flakes (optional)

1 Tbsp minced garlic (dry)

2 tsp. oregano crushed fine

So now you can make your own truly homemade tacos and avoiding all the additives.  Also, you are doing your family a favor by using the tvp instead of meat.

Leave a Reply

