My Shaker Pullback Curtain

Image

My newest project was to find a curtain that would work for our hallway window and since I love Amish and Shaker style, this curtain at www.countrystoreofgeneva.com was perfect.

10663

It is called a Shaker Cabin Pullback Curtain and to maintain simplicity, it has no backing.  I thought that I might be able to make one, so this is my attempt.  I am fairly pleased with it and I think it was easy to make.   Please forgive the lighting:

This is how I made it:

1.  First I measured my window and found out that it was 58″ long.  I then decided that I would tuck under 1/2 inch on each end and then hem at 2″.  The top “hem” could be used as the curtain rod pocket.

2.  I washed and dried my material, which was called “prairie cloth” in “taupe”.  I had bought 2 1/2 yards, I might make some cloth napkins out of the leftover.  I also used “Coats and Clark All Purpose Thread color 8540”.

3.  I then ironed and cut my material and ironed my hems in.  The sewing went quickly this way.

4.  Last I cut a 4 inch strip of material the width of the the cloth and then another 5 1/2 inch strip to sew on the end to make the material 50 inches long.  I then ironed the 4 inch strip to tuck both sides in and then to double it over to make the tieback.  After ironing, it was really easy to just sew right down the folded over strip.  I then sewed it to the back of the curtain at the top left in the back and the other end of the tieback  is tied to the curtain rod.

Happy Sewing!

20 responses »

  1. im moving soon and plan on using this exactly in all my windows – all swagged toward the same side in every window….very rustic and absolutely beautiful!~ Can’t wait! Thanks.

  2. What width was the window and how wide did you make it? Also, the instructions on the strip is confusing to me. What is happening with the 5 1/2 inch strip? You say the strip of material is the width of the cloth but is that the fabric or the width of the curtain? Sorry for all the questions but I’m making these as a gift so I’d like it to be perfect.

    • Ok, I hope I can make this clearer. The width of the material I purchased was 45* wide. I did not put a hem on the side of the curtain. So I just used the width of the material at 45* and put a top and bottom hem on it. I then had extra material left over that I used for a “tie back”. This strip was made from 2 pieces of my material. One of those pieces was 4″ x 45″ and the other was 4″ x 5 1/2″. I sewed those two pieces together on their short ends. I used 1/4″ seam so this made a large piece that measured 4″ x 50″. I then folded the material so that the 4 inches was about 1 inch wide. I just took the sides and folded them to meet in the middle and then folded them inside again by folding the material in half again. I then sewed this piece to hold the fold down the entire length. So I ended up with a “tie back that was approx. 1″ x 50”. After my curtain was sewn I attached this “tie back” to the top right of the curtain, but in the back toward the wall. I then took this “tie back” under my curtain panel, arranged the curtain the way I wanted it and tied the “tie back” to the rod. Please let me know if this makes sense or if you have any other questions. Thanks for reading my blog, I hope your gift turns out well.

    • And I forgot to say, but my window was 34 1/4″ wide. The rule generally is that you want a curtain to be 1 1/2 to 2 times as wide as your window for it to pucker correctly. Since I had a straight rod it was ok to be a little bit narrower than that. For the curved rods I usually figure that I need about 2 inches on each side to cover, but you don’t need that on a straight rod.

  3. Thank you sooooo much!!! I know you posted this tutorial quite some time ago so I can’t tell you how appreciative I am that you could clear up my confusion. My mom sent this link from your blog and said she wanted that exact curtain, lol….no pressure or anything.

    • It takes approximately 9 inches of the tieback to tie the knot and it hangs down from the knot about 22 inches, so approximately 31 inches in the front for the tieback. So since my tie back was sewn at the top in the back of the curtain, the back part of the tieback is approximately 19 to 20 inches long. This is all approximate because I just now measured it. When I made it, I made the tieback 50 inches long and sewed it on and then just eyeballed it when hanging and tying.

      • Do you know that it is a talent it is to be able to, “eyeball it”? I measure and pin and try everything three times and it still doesn’t look as nice as yours. I wish you would take a picture at night so that I could see how you tie it.

      • I used a slip knot to tie it. Here is an example of a slip knot http://www.animatedknots.com/slip/#ScrollPoint I have had a lot of mistakes under my belt, so don’t be discouraged 🙂 I moved and I don’t have the curtain up in my new home yet. I will take your advice and take some pictures at night to see if they come out better in the future. Thanks for reading the blog.

Leave a Reply

