Homemade Pasta

Image

I wanted to show off my gift that my brother got me.  It is an Marcato Atlas Pasta Machine, and it works like a dream.  I used the cookbook, entitled Anne Willan’s Look & Cook Perfect Pasta, which my brother also gave me as a gift.  The cookbook has a lot of great pictures, so I could see what things should look like.  I used the recipe for Fresh Fettuccine with Butter and Black Pepper to make the dough.  Once I had kneaded the dough, I then put it through the pasta machine.  Here is the general recipe, minus the pictures:

Homemade Pasta

2 1/2 cups flour (I used all purpose, but you could experiment)

3 eggs (at room temperature)

1 TBS Vegetable oil

1 tsp salt

First you sift your flour into a pile on your counter and make a well in the center.  Crack your eggs into the well and add vegetable oil and salt.  Mix the eggs vegetable oil and salt together first with your hand and then start adding the flour to it a little at a time until you have a dough.  It said if your dough was sticky to add more flour, but mine was too dry so I added about 1/4 cup of water to bring it all together.  Then you separate the dough into 2 pieces and knead it about 5-10 minutes each.  Then you put the dough all together in a ball and cover and let it sit for an hour.

Now the dough is ready to be put through the pasta machine.  You start by putting the machine on 1 and run it through, then 2 then 3 and do this until your dough is as thin as you want it.  I went up to 4 with mine.  Then you can put it through the cutter to cut the type of noodle that you want.  You can put some flour on the noodles after they are cut and roll them up and let to dry for 1 -2 hours.  Here is what my noodles looked like after I cut them:

This is what they looked like after shaking in a bag with flour and rolling them up:

And this is the beautiful pasta machine that made them:

If you have one of these, it is definitely worth it to make your own pasta.  We had some with our dinner with butter, black pepper and salt and it was very yummy!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

