Fried Zucchini or Squash

Image

This is a great recipe to make when you are super hungry and would like to put your face in a bag of potato chips.  Of course I know that I am the only one who may actually do something like that.  I have found this is a great way to get some veggies and get some extra virgin olive oil in my system, short of drinking it.  I had made the GLAD Flour from Frugal Abundance website as an experiment on gluten free eating and when I did, I had flour left over that was gluten free, so I dumped it all into my flour canister in my kitchen.  Now when I want to flour something, I dip out of that canister.  So these fried squash are gluten free and are fried in the EVOO.  By the way, this is in honor of my mother (the best cook in the world) who passed away last week.  She always made this for us when we were growing up, I just took the liberty to making it healthier.  Here is what you will need:

Fried Zucchini or Squash

1 zucchini or yellow squash

1/3 cup of gluten free flour

Extra Virgin Olive Oil to coat pan

Salt to taste

First wash and slice your squash into very thin slices.  Put them into a gallon ziploc bag with the flour, seal and shake to coat the pieces on both sides.

Cover the bottom of your skillet with olive oil and heat at medium heat (I put it on 6 on my stove).  You will put a single layer of coated squash pieces in the bottom of the pan.  Fry on each side until brown.

Remove squash pieces after they are brown to a paper towel-lined bowl.  You will salt them to taste as they are put in the bowl.  After you remove one layer, start putting the next layer in the pan to brown.  These will be very hot, so you can brown them all before eating them and they will stay hot.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

