Stuffing Balls

Image

This is something I have wanted to make for awhile, and it was what we had for dinner tonight.  This recipe is not one of my mom’s recipes, but it uses her recipe for stuffing with little additions from another recipe I have.   I noticed that most of the stuffing balls recipes have eggs in them, so I made sure I added one and this is what holds them together.  This recipe makes 9 stuffing balls.

My husband and I really liked them and it smelled like Thanksgiving in our house.  I also made turkey breast in my clay pot.

Nee’s Stuffing Balls

1/2 loaf of stale bread and 4 hamburger rolls pulled into pieces

1 teaspoon poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon celery salt

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 can of cream of chicken soup

1 onion chopped into small pieces

6 Tablespoons of butter

1 egg

Melt the butter over medium heat, add onion and cook until translucent.  Wisk in the 1/2 can of cream of chicken soup and remove from heat.  Add the poultry seasoning, celery salt, salt and pepper to the bread crumbs in a big bowl and mix.  Now add the soup mixture and mix.  Wisk the egg in a small bowl and pour over the bread mixture and mix with your hands.  Gather the stuffing by the handfuls and squeeze to make small baseball size stuffing balls.  Grease a 13×9 inch pan with Pam spray and put the stuffing balls in it.  Bake at 400 degrees for approximately 40 minutes or until browned to your liking.  Serve hot with turkey, which you can make in a clay pot with chicken broth and salt and pepper.  The turkey is baked in your soaked clay pot (I use a Schlemertopf soaked in water for 15 minutes) for 55 minutes at 400 degrees.  Put the clay pot in a cold oven and preheat with the pot in the oven.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

