Nee’s Broccoli and Cheese Soup (Crockpot)

Image

I was about to show you how to make a wonderful broccoli with cheese sauce.  I had made a really yummy version once.  I had this great recipe in an old cookbook, but I have somehow misplaced it.  So, anyway, I thought I would try from memory and tweek it.  The above picture was what I took of my ingredients.  I was so ready to eat this, but something was missing.  I couldn’t figure out if it needed more cheese, salt, pepper, what?  So I decided to avert disaster and make it into a broccoli cheese soup in the crockpot, and yeah, success!  Here is the recipe I used as a guide to fix it, http://allrecipes.com/recipe/velveeta-cheesy-broccoli-soup-2/detail.aspx.  Here is the resulting recipe:

Nee’s Broccoli and Cheese Soup

24 oz velveeta (1 1/2 lb) cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1 can evaporated milk (I used 2% evap. milk)

1 – 2 cups heavy cream (I just dumped it – but I think it was about 1 cup)

1 lb. of frozen broccoli

1 teaspoon of salt (about 1 Tbs. additional salt for water boil)

1/8 teaspoon of pepper

1 onion cut up into very small pieces

2 1/2 cups milk

2 Tbs butter

2 Tbs flour

First boil a large pot of water and add the 1 Tbs. salt to it.  Add your broccoli, boil for 10 minutes and drain in a colander.  Put the broccoli in your crockpot.  Melt the butter over low to medium heat and add the onions.  Cook onions until translucent.  Add flour, salt (1 tsp)  and pepper to the butter and onions.  Stir around for a little while and then add the 2 1/2 cups milk and warm up the milk over low to med heat.  Add some of your cheese and stir until melted.  Pour this mixture over the broccoli in the crock pot and add all remaining ingredients and stir.  Put the soup on low to cook through out the day.

This is what the results looked like:

Enjoy the soup, and I will keep working on the broccoli with cheese sauce recipe I can share in the future.  Maybe I’ll find my recipe!

Leave a Reply

