Mom’s Homemade Meatballs (My Version)

Image

I have been trying to reproduce the simple, but delicious, meatballs that my Mom used to make for a long time.  I can remember the taste distinctly, but nothing has come close, until this version.  I am documenting it here, so I can remember how I did it.  The nice thing about this recipe is that the onions are grated on a cheese grater and the water is wrung out by hand.  This causes the onion to become one with the meatball and cook well.  I am not a professional cook or photographer, please do not comment on my photo taking skills 🙂

Nee’s version of Mom’s Homemade Meatballs

2 lb of ground beef

1/2 large onion grated on a cheese grater

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 scant tsp black pepper

2 eggs

4 slices of stale white sandwich bread (break into small pieces)

1/4 cup of milk

2 jars of spaghetti sauce

1 handful of spaghetti

Canola oil for frying

garlic bread for the side

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients by hand except sauce, spaghetti and oil and form into meatballs.  Fry meatballs in Canola oil on all sides until dark brown.  Place the meatballs on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or foil.  Bake for approximately 9-10 minutes while making the spaghetti.  When the meatballs are baked through, put one jar of sauce in a pan with the meatballs.  Heat over medium heat.  Add the cooked spaghetti and another jar of sauce and stir.  When the spaghetti is hot, turn the heat to low and let the flavors mix.  Meanwhile, you are making your garlic bread or cleaning up.  Eat and enjoy!

12/17/15 – I revised the bread from 2 slices to 4 because I made a mistake and made it that way, and I think it tastes even better.

Leave a Reply

