My THM version of Beef Broccoli (S)

Video

I am attempting to put together recipes that I like and make them into Trim Healthy Mama (THM) recipes that I can make.  I have made the Take-out, Fake-out Beef Broccoli from http://www.tablefortwoblog.com in the past and liked it.  The only problem is that I am on the THM way of eating and am taking sugar out of my recipes.  So, I replaced the regular thickening agent with xanthan gum, the soy sauce with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos and the brown sugar with black strap molasses and Truvia.  It turned out well, but I do not have a really good picture of it, so you will have to trust me.  I put my broccoli in early because I was leaving and I like my broccoli really soft anyway.  I made white rice for the rest of the family, but I went without.  If I would have planned better I could have had some brown rice, but I didn’t have the time (my pressure cooker broke and I don’t have a new one yet)  Here is my new recipe:

Nee’s THM Crockpot Beef Broccoli (S)

Flank Steak (semi frozen and cut into strips)

1 cup of beef broth (no sugar)

1/2 cup Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

1 tsp black strap molasses

7 packets Truvia (2 Tbsp + 1 tsp)

1 Tbs sesame oil

1 Tbs minced garlic from jar

4 Tbs cooking juice (get after cooking the meat for awhile)

1 tsp xanthan gum or glucomannan powder

1 bag frozen broccoli

Put your cut flank steak strips in the crock pot.  Mix broth, Bragg’s, black strap molasses, Truvia, sesame oil and garlic in a 2 cup measuring glass.  Pour this over the meat in the crockpot and stir.  After the meat has been cooking for an hour or so, take the 4 Tbs. of juice and put it in a small cup and add the xanthan gum and whisk.  Pour this into the meat mixture and stir well.  If you like your broccoli really mushy like I do, put your broccoli in early.  If you don’t, wait until 30 minutes before the meat is done cooking.  The dish should be done in 4 hours in the crockpot, if you have a turbo slow cooker like I do!  Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

