Mom’s Potato Candy

Image

IMG_20151225_135018[1]

Merry Christmas!  I thought I would share a recipe for potato candy.  My mom used to make this when I was little and I really liked it.  I wasn’t sure as an adult how this would taste as it is mostly sugar, but since I am big on nostalgia and have the day off I thought why not?  So here is the recipe I used and when my Mom was alive she said that it took one potato and enough powder sugar to make a dough.  This is approx. what I used:

Potato Candy

1 potato mashed

2 lb of powdered sugar

1/3-1/2 cup peanut butter

First you will skin, boil and mash 1 potato.  If the potato is too lumpy you can use a tiny bit of milk to make it smooth.  Then start adding the powdered sugar a little at a time.  At first it will become watery (even though it doesn’t look like it will at first).  As you add more sugar it becomes sticky.  At this point I put it on wax paper sprinkled with powdered sugar and began to kneed and mix in more powdered sugar.  When the consistency is like a dough you roll it out on the wax paper, spread it with peanut butter and then roll it up.  Put it in the refrigerator for 1 hour and then slice.  Below are my pictures (I realize these pictures are a bit shaky since I took them with my tablet, please forgive the fuzziness):

IMG_20151225_123316[1]

IMG_20151225_123444[1]

IMG_20151225_123615[1]
IMG_20151225_130234[1]

IMG_20151225_130418[1]IMG_20151225_130607[1]

 

Leave a Reply

